Let’s talk books.

If I could do one thing for the rest of my life, it would definitely be reading books. Reading is my first love, my escape and refugee when everything gets overwhelming. Because of that, I thought I might share a list of some of my favorites books and maybe you could join me in this love

1. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. This is one book I wish I could go back in time and discover again for the very first time. It follows the sweet story of Cath who goes off to college and has to figure out life. Can she do this? Can she figure out school, friendship, love and herself without her twin sister Wren holding her hand. I recommended this book to a friend who said they saw a lot of me in Cath which I guess might be why I loved it so much.

2. The Family Upstairs by Lisa Jewell. I read this book at a time when I was going through a very rough time in my life and it helped me escape. The character of Henry felt like my very personal friend so I cherish this book. A chilling story about a family that let the wrong people into their home. A very classic case of ‘be careful who you let in’. This is definitely always the first book that comes to mind everytime someone asks me for a book recommendation.

3. Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens. This is a heart breaking story of Kya, a girl who has had to survive alone in a marsh after she has been abandoned by her entire family and how this shapes her life and it’s outcomes. This book was a real rollercoaster of emotions for me and I would read it again any day. For any introverts reading this, you should definitely get this book.

4. Milk and honey by Rupi Kaur. If you have seen any of my attempts at poetry, they were inspired by this book. I always thought poetry was supposed to be complicated syntax and metaphors but Rupi revolutionarized poetry for me. This is a collection of poetry and prose about many of the things we go through in our everyday lives; love, pain, loss, heartbreak, femininity, abuse and so much more. It is also a quick read in the case of those who might not have the time or patience for a whole novel.

5. Malibu Rising by Taylor Jenkins Reid. Let me start by saying Reid is my author of the year. I haven’t met a book of hers that hasn’t been a page turner for me. I pulled an all nighter for this one, I was groggy at work the following day but I don’t regret a single minute of it. It follows the lives of the Riva siblings, a story of family, secrets, fame and how this shaped their lives. You can’t help but fall in love with each of these siblings and their unique quirks. “Do you love this book because you see yourself as a Nina?” Someone asked me. I don’t know about that but what I know is you should definitely give this one a try.

And that is my five books for today, books I definitely think you should look into if you love to read like I do or would just love to escape for a little while.

Leave a comment